Tour de Force

Oy, This Shadows Fall Tour

0

Shadows Fall

UPDATE, May 19, 5:44pm EDT:

The band has sent us an updated list of tour dates, which follows:

Wednesday, June 18 – Knitting factory – Brooklyn, NY
Thursday, June 19 – Revolution – Amityville, NY
Friday, June 20 – Maximum capacity – Chicopee, MA
Saturday, June 21 – City Limits – Waterbury, CT
Sunday, June 22 – SIMONS 667 – Providence, RI
Tuesday, June 24 – Ziggys – Winston/Salem, NC
Wednesday, June 25 – Southland Ballroom – Raleigh, NC
Thursday, june 26 – Sky City – Agusta, GA
Friday, June 27 – The International – Knoxville, TN
Saturday, June 28 – Fubar – St Louis, MO
Sunday – June 29 – Diamond Pub – Louisville, KY
Monday, June 30 – High Noon Saloon – Madison, WI
Tuesday, July 1 – The Loft – Lansing, MI
Wednesday, July 2 – Mojoes – Joliet, IL
Thursday, July 3 – Center Stage – Kokomo, IN
Friday, July 4 – AlRosa Villa – Columbus, OH
Saturday, July 5 – Broadway Joe’s – Buffalo, NY
Sunday, July 6 – Legion Post 80 – Binghamton, NY

Original Post:

Ugh, this just kills me to see. It’s been a long, slow descent for Shadows Fall ever since they were one of the “Big Four” of the New Wave of American Heavy Metal in the mid ’00s, right up there along with Mastodon, Killswitch Engage and Lamb of God. And then the bottom just dropped out against all odds; it’s one of those oft-discussed topics among metalheads that remains a mystery. Maybe some day someone will write a book about how and why it happened. So now here we are in 2014 and the band is announcing a headline tour with several dates listed as “TBA,” an embarrassing n00b move, with the tour’s start just a tick more than a month away.

Shadows Fall posted the first few dates of this run back in March then tacked a few on yesterday. Can you imagine Mastodon, Killswitch or Lamb of God posting an incomplete tour routing or announcing any dates less than three or four months in advance? There’s no reason they should be forced to run so last minute like this — local, unsigned bands do this kind of thing, not Shadows Fucking Fall! Obviously there’s some kind of disconnect happening here between the band and their handlers.

I say all this not to hate, but to commiserate. I saw the band live about a year and a half ago and they positively RIPPED it — so good, so much energy.

Here are the dates. Go see them if you can, you won’t regret it. Presumably more shows will be posted on SF’s Facebook page as they’re filled in.

06/18 Brooklyn, NY – Knitting Factory
06/19 Long Island, NY – Revolution Live
06/20 Chicopee, MA – Maximum Capacity
06/21 New Branford, CT – Axl’s Rock House
06/22 Providence, RI – Simons 667
06/25 Raleigh, NC – Southland Ballroom
06/26 Augusta, GA — Sky City
06/27 TBA – TBA
06/28 St. Louis, MO – Fubar
06/29 TBA – TBA
06/30 Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon
07/01 Lansing, MI – The Loft
07/02 Joliet, IL – Mojoes
07/03 Kokomo, IN – Center Stage
07/04 TBA – TBA
07/05 Buffalo, NY – TBA
07/06 Binghamton, NY – Legion Post 80

Tags:
Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits