Shit That Comes Out Today




New releases from Darkest Hour, DevilDriver and Evergrey top this week’s list of releases in the “veteran” category. Click on through to the other side to see what else is being officially released.

Darkest Hour – The Human Romance (E1 Music)
Darkest Hour’s seventh album overall was produced by Peter Wichers, guitarist of Swedish melodic metal pioneers Soilwork. This is Darkest Hour’s first record since their debut album, The Mark of the Judas, not to be released through Victory Records. Stream the record in full here.

DevilDriver – Beast (Roadrunner)
Devildriver’s fifth album, Beast, finds the band continuing their style of melodic groove metal and is produced by Mark Lewis (Trivium, The Black Dahlia Murder, Chimaira). A promo video for the track “Dead to Rights”, the album’s first single, premiered on this very site back on February 9th.

Drugs of Faith – Corroded (Selfmadegod Records)
You might remember this band from last year’s This Comp Kills Fascists 2. Drugs of Faith mainman Richard Johnson also plays with Agoraphobic Nosebleed and Enemy Soil. Corroded is DoF’s debut full-length album, but the band has already released material on a handful of compilations and splits as well.

Evergrey – Glorious Collision (SPV/Steamhammer)
Last May, Evergrey lost a guitarist, their bassist and their drummer. This leaves only long-time member Tom S. Englund, the band’s singer and guitarist, and Rikard Zander, keyboardist/vocalist since 2002.  But don’t expect any huge changes on this record, which was already being recorded when the band changed their lineup.

Rival Sons – Rival Sons EP (Earache)
It’s damn near impossible to not draw parallels between Rival Sons and a million other bands playing so-called retro rock, drawing inspiration from the blues and early rock and roll. I’ve always thought the difference is in the actual songs, which in this case, rule hard. The band’s self-titled “teaser” EP, which is only available via iTunes, is a preview of music that will be included on their forthcoming debut for Earache.

The Swan King – Eyes Like Knives (Seventh Rule)
The Swan King, a noisy post-punk band from Chicago, includes Jamie Dreier, formerly of Planes Mistaken For Stars, and Dallas Thomas, formerly from Asschapel. Eyes Like Knives will be released by Seventh Rule recordings, a label from the same town that has released records from Wetnurse, Akimbo and Buried At Sea, among others.

Various Artists — NYC Sucks, Volume 2 (MetalSucks)
It’s here! Volume 2 of our very own FREE digital compilation highlighting the best in New York City’s metal scene will be available for download later this afternoon. The comp features such notable bands as Krallice, Wetnurse, Tombs, Hull, Goes Cube and several excellent unsigned bands. Volume 1 came out on January 18th and is available here. Come back to MetalSucks at 5pm EST for the Volume 2 download link.


Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits