Upcoming Bullsh*t



When it comes to upcoming releases, there’s “news” and there’s “non-news:” the latter encompasses updates bands sometimes issue saying “Hey! We’re working on stuff! Don’t forget about us!” without saying much of anything substantial while the former contains precious nuggets of actual information. Today’s update from Wintersun is somewhere in the middle; we learn specifically what Wintersun are working on, but we don’t get any concrete timetable for its release.

This is noteworthy, of course, because Wintersun’s new album is approaching Necrophagist levels of tardiness whatwith nothing new from the band since 2004. Today’s update comes from Wintersun’s Official Website [via Metal Injection] and says that the long-gestating new album Time is going to be a double record while setting a rough timetable for release:

Hello friends!

Time for some album(s) news. Wintersun’s “Time” is going to be two albums, titled TIME I & TIME II. We made this decision simply because of few reasons:

– All the 80min of material won´t fit on a regular CD and we didn´t want to cut anything out.

– We want you to be able to hear new material sooner and not wait any longer and we want to go on tour sooner.

– The music is very full and complex, so listening this kind of “hard listening (not easy listening)” material straight for 80 minutes is a bit too much (even for me). Both albums will be approx. nice 40 min epic packages of fireworks.

– We like the idea of releasing two albums within one year, so the band will stay more visible longer, which is important in these “modern times”. No more years of silence for us!

We hope you´ll approve our new little “plan” and support us when the “Time” comes!

The tracklisting for TIME I looks like this:


1. When Time Fades Away
2. Sons of Winter and Stars
I Rain of Stars
II Surrounded by Darkness
III Journey Inside a Dream
IV Sons of Winter and Stars
3. Land of Snow and Sorrow
4. Darkness and Frost
5. Time

TIME I mix is set to be finished by July, mastered in the beginning of July and released in early fall of 2012! TIME II will be released in 2013. Conception of album artworks, videos, live shows incl. rehearsals will keep us busy during the summer and I´ll also continue mixing TIME II meanwhile. We´ll be hopefully posting some videos and teasers during summer. Also some new live show announcements soon, so stay tuned for those!

We can’t wait for you guys to hear TIME I material and play it to you live! Have a great summer!

Jari & Wintersun boys

I’ve never personally gotten into Wintersun, but I’m certainly open to being swayed — Frank @ Metal Injection is always raving about them (although once this album comes out he’ll surely say it’s not as good as their first album). So, barring any delays, get ready for “early fall 2012.”


Metal Sucks Greatest Hits