New Stuff

Sumerian Records is Releasing a Florence + The Machine Tribute Album


Florence Throws Horns

I shit you not: Sumerian Records is releasing a Florence + The Machine tribute album. It’s called Sumerian Ceremonials: Florence + The Sphinx, and in case the name didn’t give it away, it consists primarily of songs from Florence + The Machine’s 2011 album, Ceremonials. Of course, one exception has been made — Stick To Your Guns have recorded “Dog Days Are Over,” because you can’t really release a Florence + The Machine tribute album and not include the band’s big breakthrough hit.

ANYWAY, I think this is actually a pretty cool idea; mostly, I just wish that my favorite song from Ceremonials, “Seven Devils,” was being performed by a band whose work I enjoy more (sorry, BOO fans). What happened? The Faceless were too busy? The Faceless could have KILLED that song.

Here’s the full track listing, courtesy of The PRP

01 – Periphery – “Only If For A Night“
02 – Stick To Your Guns – “Dog Days Are Over“
03 – Ben Bruce (Asking Alexandria) – “Shake It Out“
04 – Darkest Hour – “Spectrum“
05 – Miss Fortune – “No Light, No Light“
06 – Fever Dreamer – “Leave My Body“
07 – Born of Osiris – “Seven Devils“
08 – Come the Dawn – “What The Water Gave Me“
09 – Upon A Burning Body – “Lover To Lover“
10 – Mike Semesky (Intervals/Raunchy) – “Heartlines” (feat. Aleka Farha)
11 – Dead Letter Circus – “Remain Nameless“
12 – City In The Sea – “All This And Heaven Too“

…and here are three cuts from the album: the aforementioned “Dog Days” cover by Stick To Your Guns, Periphery’s version of “Only If For a Night,” and Come the Dawn’s cover of “What The Water Gave Me.”

Sumerian Ceremonials: Florence + The Sphinx comes out May 13.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits