Music Premieres

Exclusive Track Premiere: Fountainhead, “Reverse Engineering”


Fountainhead - Reverse EngineeringYou’re probably already acquainted with Fountainhead even if you don’t think you are; the progressive metal outfit first gained exposure to the metal world at large when guitarist/producer/composer Tom Geldschläger joined Obscura in 2014.

Geldschläger has since departed Obscura, but Fountainhead remains strong: their new album Reverse Engineering will come out on August 5th, and we’re pleased to premiere the title track here on MetalSucks. Fans of Obscura will hear similarities — weedily-weedily guitarisms, fretless bass, a general penchant for prog — but Fountainhead’s sound isn’t as fast and frenetic as Obscura’s, opting instead for a more nuanced, chilled out and fusion-inspired approach, but one still unmistakably based death metal.

Check out the cast of characters Geldschläger has assembled to help him out on the record, including some very familiar names:

Tom Geldschläger – fretted & fretless guitars, e-bow, keyboards & piano
Yatziv Caspi – drums & percussion
Derek Roddy – drums
Linus Klausenitzer – fretless bass
Ray Riendeau – fretted bass
Jacob Schmidt – fretted bass
Matthias Preisinger – violin, viola, mandolin, harp, keyboards
Doug Gorkoff – Cello
Gabriel Riccio – vocals
Dan Sander – vocals
Lotte Schüppler – vocals
Michél Kroll – vocals

If you like what you hear be sure to check out a previously released track from the album called “Ascension.” Pre-order Reverse Engineering here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits