Enlarge Photo by Kristie Krause

Get Your First Taste of John Frum, the New Band Featuring Current and Former Members of The Dillinger Escape Plan and The Faceless



Last month, we learned about John Frum, a new project featuring The Dillinger Escape Plan’s Liam Wilson, former The Faceless frontman Dereky Rydquist, Knife the Glitter’s Eli Litwin, and Matt Hollenberg, of John Zorn fame. Today, the band has unveiled their first single, “Presage of Emptiness.”

So how is it? I’m into it! It’s techy, proggy death metal, which makes sense, given the band’s line-up. It’s hard for me to imagine any DEP or Faceless fans not digging this.

Only one way to find out for sure, though: listen to “Presage of Emptiness” below. The song will appear on John Frum’s debut, A Stirring in the Noos, comes out May 12 on Relapse. Pre-order it here. The band also has some live dates coming up; get those at the bottom of this post, courtesy of The PRP.

John Frum Live

April 14 Philadelphia, PA – Shred Shed (feat. Surgeon)
April 15 New York, NY – St. Vitus (feat. Imperial Triumphant)
April 16 Baltimore, MD – Metro Gallery

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits