Enlarge Photo Credit: Chanelle Leslie

Exclusive Track Premiere: Abrams, “Mourning”


Today’s track premiere finds Denver trio Abrams in a very different musical place than they were almost exactly two years ago when we last checked in.

So different is “Mourning” than their 2015 single “Sea Salt Lines” — about which we said the band “effortlessly [meshes] angular mathcore with chunky stoner metal” and “recalls Remission-era Mastodon” — that we actually had to make sure there wasn’t a different Abrams now on the scene.

But nope! Same band. “Mourning” is but one track, and the presence of guest vocals by Khemmis frontman Phil Pendergast lends this track in particular a very unique feel, so it’s possible the album from which it comes — Morning, the band’s second — could be more in line with their past material. But the cascading layers of atmospheric guitars, the laid back 3/4 time groove, the scorching guitar solos (two of them!)… this sure feels like Abrams are a matured, evolved beast.

Also worth noting: the recording sounds fucking fantastic. Andy Patterson (SubRosa, Cult Leader) engineered while Dave Otero (Cobalt, Cattle Decapitation) mixed and mastered.

Stream “Mourning” below. Morning comes out June 9th on Sailor Records.

Cover artwork: Samantha Muljat
Cover artwork: Samantha Muljat
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits