Current and Former Members of Dream Theater, Guns N’ Roses, Mr. Big, and Journey Unite for New Supergroup Sons of Apollo

  • Axl Rosenberg

Power-prog-nerd-metal fans, rejoice, for the universe has blessed you with a new supergroup over which to fawn.

Sons of Apollo features drummer Mike Portnoy; his former Dream Theater bandmate, keyboardist Derek Sherinian; his Winery Dogs bandmate, bassist Billy Sheehan; ex-Guns N’ Roses/current Art of Anarchy guitarist Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal; and former Journey frontman Jeff Scott Soto.

The group’s debut album, Psychotic Symphony, will be released on October 20; you can check out a preview below. It basically sounds exactly the way you’d expect it to sound. Anticipate this album having more chops on display than a butcher.

But will Psychotic Symphony actually be good, or just show-offy? We won’t really have any idea ’til we hear a full song. I will say this: whatever keeps Bumblefoot too busy to do Art of Anarchy is a-okay in my book!

[via Metal Injection]

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits