Supergroup Legend of the Seagullmen (Tool, Mastodon, etc.) Release New Song “Shipswreck”


Say, Legend of the Seagullmen sure have been in the news a whole lot lately! The supergroup — featuring Tool’s Danny Carey on drums, guitarist (and director) Jimmy Hayward, singer David “Dr Dreyer” Dreyer, Brent Hinds (Mastodon), guitarist Tim Dawson, bassist Pete Griffin (Giraffe Tongue Orchestra, etc.) and keyboard player Chris Digiovanni — is playing a New Year’s Eve show with Primus, their first live performance ever. We interviewed Hayward and Carey about the group on the latest edition of The MetalSucks Podcast. And on that same episode, Carey told us there will definitely be a new Tool album in 2018.

And now we know why this is all coming up right now: the group will release their debut album in February! What’s more, they’ve premiered a new song from the effort called “Shipswreck” via Loudwire, which you can listen to below. Here’s what we can expect from the album, both sonically and thematically:

“Joining forces to make cinematic psychedelic rock, the Seagullmen sing of ship wrecks and giant mutant squid, crafting conceptual rock ‘n’ roll hymns of epic proportions on their full-length debut Legend of the Seagullmen.”

Legend of the Seagullmen will release their self-titled debut album on February 9th via Dine Alone Records; pre-order here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits