Enlarge But no new single :(

Bloodbath Announce New Album The Arrow of Satan Is Drawn

Bloodbath Announce New Album The Arrow of Satan Is Drawn
Album art by Eliran Kantor

Bloodbath have done that irritating thing where a band announces a new album but doesn’t release any new music. It’s kind of a ballsy move when you think about it. I guess Bloodbath have earned the right to be ballsy. Goddamnit.

ANYWAY, the band’s fifth album will be called The Arrow of Satan Is Drawn, and it will arrive on October 26 via Peaceville. It will be the band’s second record with Nick Holmes (Paradise Lost) on vocals and first record with new guitarist Joakim Karlsson (Craft). Additionally, there’s a song called “Bloodicide” (LOL) that features guest vocals from Jeff Walker (Carcass),  Karl Willetts (Bolt Thrower/Memoriam), and John Walker (Cancer). Here’s the tracklist:

  1. Fleischmann [03:38]
  2. Bloodicide [04:56]
  3. Wayward Samaritan [03:39]
  4. Levitator[04:37]
  5. Deader[04:06]
  6. March Of The Crucifers[04:05]
  7. Morbid Antichrist[04:05]
  8. Warhead Ritual[03:38]
  9. Only The Dead Survive[05:06]
  10. Chainsaw Lullaby [03:20]

Say guitarist Blakkheim (who you may know as Anders Nyström from Katatonia) of the release:

What are we presenting with this album? Humanity’s unfaltering march prone towards downfal. The threat to this world isn’t from far beyond the sun, the enemy is right here, within the walls. Only the god of emptiness will survive us all. The arrow of Satan is drawn!

There’s no mitigating circumstances coming your way any time soon… The world is a mad place full of darkness, horror, disease and terror! Hell on Earth is real and not just limited to fiction. The dark ages transcend all frontiers, ever present but yet unseen.”

Regarding that “Bloodicide” song with all the fancy-schmancy guests on it, Blakkheim adds:

“It wasn’t deliberately planned to be just British guests, but as it randomly turned out that way, it became a really cool feat! Nick, Jeff, Karl and John are all legends respectively within the UK death metal scene and we’re proud to bring them all together on our little old school soiree to tribute the days of old.”

The Arrow of Satan Is Drawn is available now for pre-order in a variety of attractive formats. Hopefully they release a goddamn single soon. Hurumph.

He’s not the only extra face getting covered in gore. “Bloodicide” – quite literally meaning ‘The Killing Of Blood’ – features a full house of British death metal guest stars, with Carcass’ Jeff Walker, Bolt Thrower/Memoriam singer Karl Willetts and Cancer’s John Walker all lending their larynxes to the madness.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits