Ill Niño Get a New Singer, New Guitarists, and New Song


Ill Niño are Ill Newño.

The PRP reports that the New Jersey nu-metal outfit have parted ways with frontman Cristian Machado and guitarists Ahrue Luster and Diego Verduzco. I’ve never been much of a fan of the band, but I imagine that’s a big deal, seeing as all of these dudes have been in the group for at least twelve years, and Machado and Luster appear on all of their most famous releases.

They’ll be replaced by new vocalist Marcos Leal (Shattered Sun) and guitarists Jes Dehoyos (Sons of Texas) and Sal Dominguez (ex-Upon a Burning Body).

The new Niño are vague about the reasons for the line-up changes, although their word choice, though polite, suggests the split may have been less-than-amicable:

“Being in a band is much like being married, and sometimes people grow apart, and no longer see eye to eye, and a separation becomes inevitable. We wish our former members the best in their musical careers.

“Our new members were chosen carefully, as they’re very respected, seasoned musicians. – We ask everyone that you please Respect our Privacy, as we all move forward in our careers.”

Meanwhile, the revamped band has released a new song “Sangre.” You can listen below.

I know it’s hypocritical of me to say I was never a fan of the old Ill Niño and then diss the new Ill Niño, but I’m gonna do it anyway: not only do I not care for “Sangre,” but I think the old band had at least one better song, the oddly-question-mark-free “How Can I Live.” They may have had more songs that were better than “Sangre.” That’s honestly the only old Ill Niño song I remember, likely just because it was in Freddy vs. Jason.

Feel free to disagree in the comments section.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits