Exclusive Track Premiere: Bummer’s “Grim Sleeper”

Exclusive Track Premiere: Bummer’s “Grim Sleeper”

When a band is called Bummer and their new EP is called Thanks for Nothing, one might logically deduce that the band’s music was less-than-friendly. One might be right. The new offering from the Kansas City, MO trio — guitarist vocalist Matt Perrin, bassist Mike Gustafson, and drummer Sam Hutchinson — is thick like lava, bitter like poison, and about as upbeat as a Wolves in the Throne Room fan at a Babymetal concert.

Which is not say that Thanks for Nothing is sluggish. Take, for example, the song “Grim Sleeper,” which we’re debuting today right here on MetalSucks. Raptorial bass and discordant guitars wrap around one another like a pair of anacondas hate-fucking atop a bed of sternum-shattering drums and a furious chorus of vocals. It’s part Unsane, part Today is the Day, part Melvins, part Burnt by the Sun, and all awesome. Bummer make being bummed out a blast.

Listen to “Grim Sleeper” below! Thanks for Nothing comes out this Friday, November 1 on Learning Curve Records. Pre-order it the 7″ here and/or a digital copy here. The band has a handful of live dates coming up, too; you can get those here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits