Enlarge Photo credit: Rachel H.

There’s a Rammstein Blimp Flying Over Los Angeles

0

Friggin’ Rammstein, man! Yesterday, the same day they announced the itinerary for their 2020 North American tour, which includes ten stadium shows in major markets in the U.S., Canada and Mexico, the band flew a massive blimp over Los Angeles.

Yes, a blimp. Given Rammstein’s unwavering sense of humor about themselves, their long-running penchant for dramatic visual effects and Germany’s history with blimps — not to mention the overtly German historical themes on their most recent album, Deutschland — there’s no way this promotional stunt wasn’t a complete goof in addition to being a brilliant, headline-grabbing marketing tactic. I gotta hand it Rammstein: they continue to find ways to surprise.

MetalSucks has obtained video footage of the blimp over downtown Los Angeles, sent in by Rachel. Check it out:

The blimp remained in the air well into the night. Several spectators posted photos and incredulous commentary to social media. Here are a few:

Live events promotion company Goldenvoice, a subsidiary of AEG Live, seemingly took credit for the stunt, mentioning “our blimp” in a post featuring a 30-second video highlight reel plugging the full tour:

Grab the dates below. Tickets will be go sale at 10 a.m. local time this Friday, January 24.

Thursday, August 20, 2020 โ€“ Montreal, QC โ€“ Parc Jean-Drapeau
Sunday, August 23, 2020 โ€“ Philadelphia, PA โ€“ Lincoln Financial Field
Thursday, August 27, 2020 โ€“  Washington, DC  โ€“ FedExField
Sunday, August 30, 2020 โ€“ Minneapolis, MN โ€“ U.S. Bank Stadium
Thursday, September 3, 2020 โ€“ Chicago, IL โ€“ Soldier Field
Sunday, September 6, 2020 โ€“ Foxborough, MA โ€“ Gillette Stadium
Thursday, September 10, 2020 โ€“ East Rutherford, NJ โ€“ MetLife Stadium
Wednesday, September 16, 2020 โ€“ San Antonio, TX โ€“ Alamodome
Saturday, September 19, 2020 โ€“ Los Angeles, CA โ€“ Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum
Sunday, September 27, 2020 โ€“ Mexico City, MX โ€“ Foro Sol  

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits