Power Trip and Fucked Up Members Launch New Band Masterpiece Machine, Debut First Single


One small bright spot to be taken from the current quarantine is the glut of new collaborations within the metal community, with a number of musicians (those without kids, presumably) finding a well of creativity and nothing but time to indulge in it. Already today we posted about a collaboration featuring members of King Diamond, Soilwork and Hammerfall (among others), and a different one featuring members of High on Fire, Mutoid Man and Spirit Adrift (among others).

So here’s yet one more, thanks to the magic of the internet: Power Trip vocalist Riley Gale and Fucked Up guitarist Mike Haliechuk and drummer Jonah Falco have teamed up on a new project called Masterpiece Machine. The project had its genesis long before quarantine times — Haliechuck says the songs started as “tons of [Fucked Up] music that didn’t fit on the album” — but the current isolation most certainly provides a unique window in which to release the songs, which he cites as taking influence from Ministry and Nine Inch Nails.

Have a listen to the album’s debut single, “Rotting Fruit,” below via Revolver. Masterpiece Machine’s debut EP will come out on April 15 via Triple B Records.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits