Enlarge Photo credit: Doug Stroud

Danica Roem Joins Women Metal Vocalists in “Pass the Brush” Video to Help Musicians in Need


A heavy metal version of the popular “Pass the Brush” challenge is raising money for musicians left out of work from COVID-19. The video features women metal vocalists showcasing their makeup-free skin, then holding a makeup brush in front of the camera lens and pulling it away to reveal their heavy metal stage look before passing the brush to the next vocalist.

Organized by Nina Osegueda, vocalist for metal band A Sound of Thunder, the video features 11 women who front or have fronted heavy metal bands, including Virginia state Del. Danica Roem (D-13th), who became America’s first openly transgender elected state official in 2017, previously played in the band Cab Ride Home and remains actively engaged in the metal scene.

“As a musician who is lucky enough to still be working, I wanted to support those who can’t,” said Osegueda. “This video was fun to make and was a chance for my fellow metal ladies and I to perform a little bit at a time when we can’t play for live audiences.”

Viewers are encouraged to donate to Musicians Foundation, a non-profit organization supporting musicians in need. Fans have already donated more than $1,100 in the 24 since A Sound of Thunder posted the video on Facebook.

“This video was super fun to make and watch and it’s all for a great cause to help musicians impacted by COVID-19,” said Roem, who fronted the Manassas-based thrash metal band Cab Ride Home from 2006 to2017. “I’m grateful to Nina Osegueda for inviting me to join nine other badass women metal singers to put this ‘Pass the Brush’ video together, especially after our bands came up in the local metal scene together. Sharing the stage with A Sound of Thunder always made for a great show and I’m proud to see them not only succeed on their own terms but to support other bands and causes along the way.”

Musicians Foundation is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization formed in 1914 to assist professional musicians and their families in times of need and crisis. They have recently established an emergency grant program to assist music performers, educators and composers affected by the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis.

Watch below! Donate here. Vocalists featured in the video include:

Nina Osegueda – A Sound of Thunder | Sabrina Cruz – Seven Kingdoms
Sarah Wolf – AfterTime | Kassandra Novell – Mercy Isle
Lilly Taylor – Master Sword | Melissa Ferlaak – Plague of Stars
Sarah Stepanik – Sekengard | Kryssie Ridolfi – Evil Engine
Laura Beach – Feminazgûl | Mary Beck – Blackfyre | Danica Roem – Cab Ride Home

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits