Soilwork Post Music Video for Epic 16-Minute EP Title Track


With the release of their new EP, A Whisp of the Atlantic, on Friday, December 4, Soilwork have unveiled a music video for its epic 16-minute title track.

Three of the songs on the EP were released over the past year as part of the “Feverish Trilogy” series of singles, with the fourth, “The Nothingness and the Devil,” arriving in October together with the EP announcement. Guitarist David Andersson explains of that progression and its eventual summation as an EP:

“From the desire of Feverish, the urge of ‘Desperado,’ the determinism of ‘Death Diviner,’ the insights and questions of T’he Nothingness and the Devil’ and the acceptance and spiritual searching of ‘A Whisp of the Atlantic.’ The whole song and video sequence is like a slightly different take on Maslow’s ‘Hierarchy of Needs.’ It’s all about realising that we’re all stuck on this rock and that we need to find something more inclusive than religion to get through this together. Because in the end, we’re all outsiders, genetically hunter-gatherers trying to fit in in a world that we created but at the same time wasn’t really made for us. The overarching theme is liberation from the extremely low level of the social and cultural debate these days, and it starts with the fundamentals and ends with the phenomenological. From liberation into ascension.”

Chew on that as you watch the video for the title track below.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits