Liquid Tension Experiment Announce Release Date for First New Album in 20+ Years


There’s a filthy joke to be made here about releasing liquid tension after more than two decades, but MetalSucks is far too classy and would never do anything so sophomoric.

So we’ll stick to the facts: Liquid Tension Experiment, the instrumental jam supergroup featuring John Petrucci (Dream Theater), Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater), Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater), and Tony Levin (to date, not Dream Theater), have announced a March 26 release date (via InsideOut) for LTE3, which will be their first album in almost 22 years.

That’s obviously a long time. Like, the last time they made a record, Bill Clinton was in office, Moametal was a month away from being born, and, oh right, Portnoy was still in Dream Theater. I probably don’t have to tell you he left that band in 2010 and only just reunited with Petrucci for the guitarist’s solo album Terminal Velocity last year. (Allegedly he won’t be re-joining Dream Theater, although some of us think it’s probably just a matter of time until he does.)

Says The ‘Trooch of the impending release:

“After over 20 years since the last time we recorded together, the four of us stepped into the studio and it was as if no time had passed at all! All of the magic that made the first two LTE albums so special was still there and we had such a great time making this record. I’m extremely proud of what we created together and can’t wait for everyone to hear it!”

Adds Portnoice, bruh, noice:

“The best thing to come out of 2020 was this long-awaited reunion! And it was surely worth the wait as after all these years, the magic chemistry was still there and stronger than ever!”

Pre-orders for LTE3 will launch January 22, which almost definitely means the first single will be released on January 22. So hang in there — new Liquid Tension Experiment music is a mere eleven days away.

While we wait, here’s the track list. Starting taking bets on which song will be the first single. I’m going with “Shades of Hope, ’cause it’s not too long and it’s not too short. Thoughts?

1. “Hypersonic (8:22)
2. “Beating the Odds” (6:09)
3. “Liquid Evolution” (3:23)
4. “The Passage of Time” (7:32)
5. “Chris & Kevin’s Amazing Odyssey” (5:04)
6. “Rhapsody in Blue” (13:16)
7. “Shades of Hope” (4:42)
8. “Key to the Imagination” (13:14)

P.S. Who da fuck are Chris and Kevin?

Liquid Tension Experiment Announce Release Date for First New Album in 20+ Years
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits