Soen (ex-Opeth) Unveil “Illusion” Music Video


Official press release:

The provocative, imperious and engaging Swedish-based metal group Soen reveal the thought-provoking and emotive video for “Illusion,” taken from their fifth album, Imperial, set for release via Silver Lining Music on January 29th, 2021.

Founder members Joel Ekelöf (vocals) and Martin Lopez (drums, ex-Opeth), along with Lars Enok Åhlund (keyboards and guitar), Oleksii “Zlatoyar” Kobel (bass) and Cody Ford (lead guitar), are an undeniable cypher for all the issues and emotions which swirl around us. The outfit once more step up to challenge our perceptions of life and humanity with “Illusion,” an addictive ballad brimming with bewitching guitar riffs, powerhouse-soaring chorus and a poignant message for all of us to reflect on. 

“’Illusion’ is a song about the shared responsibility amongst us if we wish to improve the world, change has to be made by us, you and me… the people,” asserts Lopez. “It’s about the frustration of feeling powerless but also the hope in realizing that things can be changed for the better,” furthers Lopez, “if we stop criticizing each other and making enemies of ourselves by blindly following the ideas of politicians and their media.” 

Ekelöf affirms: 

“We can’t just sit around and wait for those in power to help, they are preoccupied with battling each other in matters of greed and power.” 

“The ‘Illusion’ video is about dreamers,” comments video producer, Daniele Zed Berretta. “There are people who are ready to lose everything to follow their dreams, no matter the cost. Others are afraid of making dreams come true, so they stop right before fulfilling them, just to keep dreaming.”

The video follows the tale of a father and daughter in their quest for survival in a dystopian universe. Watch the video for “Illusion” below.

Imperial can be pre-ordered here.

Produced by Iñaki Marconi and the band, Imperial was mixed and mastered by Kane Churko, who has worked with the likes of Ozzy Osbourne and Bob Dylan.

Fans eager to catch Soen performing their new material, will have to wait till the Autumn for the band to be able to get on the road again. It is in fact with great regret that Soen has had to postpone the first leg of their Imperial European Tour 2021, due to the ongoing restrictions surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic. The tour will now kick-off in November 2021 in Odense, Denmark; all purchased tickets remain valid for the rescheduled dates and tickets remain on-sale. New dates in Denmark, Portugal, Spain and Poland have also been added. Full list of confirmed dates are below.

2021 Tour Dates:
16 November – Train, Aarhus – Denmark
17 November – Lille Vega, Copenhagen – Denmark
18 November – Posten, Odense – Denmark
26 November – o2 Academy Islington, London – United Kingdom
1 December – Hard Club, Porto – Portugal
2 December – Lisboa ao Vivo, Lisbon – Portugal
3 December – Shoko, Madrid – Spain
4 December – Apolo 1, Barcelona- Spain
14 December – Pralnia, Wroclaw – Poland
15 December – Drizzly Grizzly, Gdansk – Poland

2022 Tour Dates:
28 January – Pustervik, Gothenburg – Sweden
30 January – John Dee, Oslo – Norway
2 February – Logo, Hamburg – Germany
3 February – Luxor, Cologne – Germany
4 February – Melkweg, Amsterdam – The Netherlands
6 February – Z7, Pratteln – Switzerland
7 February – Backstage, Munich – Germany
9 February – Largo Venue, Rome – Italy
10 February – Magazzini Generali, Milan – Italy
11 February – Revolver, San Donà di Piave – Italy
12 February – Colos Saal, Aschaffenburg – Germany
15 February – Proxima, Warsaw – Poland
16 February – Fraanz, Berlin – Germany
18 February – Klubben, Stockholm – Sweden
20 February – Tavastia, Helsinki – Finland
21 February – Olympia Kortteli, Tampere – Finland

Tags: ,
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits