Vildhjarta Finally Announce New Album, Release Two Singles

  • Axl Rosenberg

A mere 21 months after they said it would be out in 12 months, four months after they revealed the album title and released a single, and ten years after their debut, Vildhjarta have finally announced an October 15 release date (via Century Media) for their sophomore effort, måsstaden under vatten. Which I believe is Swedish for “Mastodon underfed.”*

Here’s the album artwork, which I quite dig; it makes me think of some fucked-up hybrid of Alice in Wonderland (tell me those eyes in the sky don’t look like the Cheshire Cat) and The Dark Crystal (although that might just be the snake in a robe)…

Vildhjarta Finally Announce New Album, Release Two Singles

…and two more new songs, “toxin” and “kaos 2,” are available for your listening pleasure below. They’re basically deathcore-ish djent songs, which is to say, the band’s sound hasn’t changed much in the past decade. I don’t know why it took these dudes so long to make their next record, but I know it’s not because they were experimenting with a bold new creative direction.

Pre-order måsstaden under vatten here. The tracklist is as follows (via The PRP):

01 – “lavender haze”
02 – “när de du älskar kommer tillbaka från de döda”
03 – “kaos 2”
04 – “toxin”
05 – “brännmärkt”
06 – “den helige anden (under vatten)”
07 – “passage noir”
08 – “måsstadens nationalsång (under vatten)”
09 – “heartsmear”
10 – “vagabond”
11 – “mitt trötta hjarta”
12 – “detta drömmars sköte en slöja till ormars näste”
13 – “phantom assassin”
14 – “sunset sunrise”
15 – “sunset sunrise sunset sunrise”
16 – “penny royal poison”
17 – “paaradiso”

*I may have made this up.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits