Enlarge Photo credit: Katja Kuhl

Arch Enemy Premiere New Song “House of Mirrors”

0

Arch Enemy have released a rip-roarin’ new single, “House of Mirrors.”

On the one hand, the song offers absolutely nothing you haven’t heard Arch Enemy do a billion times before.

On the other hand, the band continues to do what they do really well — this shit is inarguably catchy — so, like, who’s complaining?

“House of Mirrors” is the band’s second new song this season, after October’s “Deceiver, Deceiver.” A press release refers to “Mirrors” as “another standalone single” — meaning we still don’t know when/if we’re getting a new Arch Enemy album. Their last offering, Will to Power, was released in 2017.

Regarding “House of Mirrors,” guitarist Michael Amott comments: 

“Musically, this is an idea that has been bouncing around in my head for a while, and finally it got finished. It all started with the guitar motif that kicks off the track, which naturally leads to the galloping ’80s-metal feel of the verses. As is always the case with us, we had quite a few different arrangements and demos of this song until it was, dare I say, fckn perfect!”

Vocalist Alissa White-Gluz adds: 

“‘House of Mirrors’ is a song that twists its way into the human psyche. I wrote the lyrics during a dark time of strict, dystopian lockdown, and I think people will be able to relate to that feeling of being totally alone – but never truly alone – when you are surrounded only by past and future versions of yourself as company.”

You can listen to the track below. We’re also including the embed for the Grupa13-directed music video, which will premiere today at 9AM PT//12PM ET//6PM CET.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits