Meshuggah Release Chunky But Straightforward Single “I Am That Thirst”


Next week sees Meshuggah releasing their much-anticipated new album Immutable to the public at large. The band have dropped a couple of singles from the record thus far — first, the grinding “The Abysmal Eye”; second, the mosh-ready “Light the Shortening Fuse.” Now, the Swedish mind-benders have unveiled their third single from the album (and what we assume will be the last before its release), “I Am That Thirst,” which you can hear below.

On the one hand, “I Am That Thirst” kicks off with some real axe-into-sheet-metal riffage. The song’s chunk is palpable from the get-go, reminding fans that Meshuggah’s infamy has come not only from time signature insanity but also from a guitar tone that immediately grabs the listener. That said, much like the single that was released before it, “I Am That Thirst” is pretty straightforward overall. It’s got the band’s signature drops and ethereal moments, but it also moves from Point A to Point B pretty steadily. It seems to prove what many have said about the album — that it’s Meshuggah refining their sound, taking it to a more listenable place.

Check out “I Am That Thirst” below, and then scroll for further album details, including the preorder link:

Meshuggah’s Immutable  comes out April 1st via Atomic Fire, and is available for preorder.

According to guitarist Mårten Hagström:

“The title fits perfectly for where we are as a band. We’re older now. Most of us are in our fifties now, and we’ve settled into who we are. Even though we’ve been experimenting all along, I also think we’ve been the same since day one. The way we approach things and why we still make new albums, and why we still sound the way we do, it’s immutable. Humanity is immutable, too. We commit the same mistakes over and over. And we are immutable. We do what we do, and we don’t change.”

Meshuggah’s Immutable:

1. Broken Cog
2. The Abysmal Eye
3. Light The Shortening Fuse
4. Phantoms
5. Ligature Marks
6. God He Sees In Mirrors
7. They Move Below
8. Kaleidoscope
9. Black Cathedral
10. I Am That Thirst
11. The Faultless
12. Armies Of The Preposterous
13. Past Tense

Meshuggah Release Chunky But Straightforward Single “I Am That Thirst”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits