Enlarge Photo by Ian Hurdle and Mason Mercer.

Candy Announce New Album, Release Punishing First Single via Disturbing Video


Last we heard from hardcore crew Candy was when guitarist Drew Stark got hit by a car. But now, the band have a new album coming, and they’ve released the first single from it via a disturbing new music video.

Candy’s latest will be titled Heaven Is Here, and will come out June 24th via Relapse Records. The album is available for preorder and pre-save, with full details below.

The band’s first single from Heaven Is Here, titled “Human Condition Above Human Opinion,” shows just how heavy and gnarly these guys are getting this time around. The track is a really fuzzy, sludgy, death metal-leaning number that’ll have fans of acts like portrayal of guilt, Primitive Man, Ringworm, and Portal bouncing along for the filth ride. The song is also the album’s opener, which explains its feedback-fueled intro, and bodes well for the rest of the record.

The video, meanwhile, does a really good job of being evocative and disturbing without including a bunch of gore or sex murder or other shock imagery. The message is a little on the nose — a callus-golem sits wired to a bunch of TVs, absorbing colorless ultra-porn that is probably turning it into even more of a horrible creature — but the use of editing and lighting are really effective, and get across the band’s scathing point extremely well. As far as videos about how our modern digital existence is fucking bullshit, of which there are plenty right now, this one hits home nice and hard. Helps that the song slaps.

Check out “Human Condition Above Human Opinion” below, and then scroll further for the album’s tracklisting and cover art.

Candy’s Heaven Is Here:

  1. Human Condition Above Human Opinion
  2. Mutilation
  3. Heaven Is Here
  4. Price Of Utopia
  5. Transcend To Wet
  6. Hysteric Bliss
  7. World Of Shit
  8. Fantasy/Greed
  9. Kinesthesia
  10. Perverse
Candy Announce New Album, Release Punishing First Single via Disturbing Video
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits