Watch Metallica Play Songs from the First Two Albums at Jonny and Marsha Z Memorial Show


The metal world lost a key figure in February with the passing of Jon “Jonny Z” Zazula, the co-founder of Megaforce Records. Alongside his late wife Marsha, who cofounded the label with him, Jonny Z discovered a young band called Metallica, which led to him releasing the No Life ‘Til Leather demo, Kill ‘Em All and Ride the Lightning.

Last night, Metallica honored the Zazulas’ memory with a special concert at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Miami. Featuring an opening set by Megaforce alumni Raven, Metallica performed cuts exclusively from their first two albums, pulling together a truly special setlist.

When they announced the show in September, Metallica said:

“Jonny gave us our first break in New York, released our first albums on his Megaforce Records label, and put us out on the road for our first real tour. With Marsha by his side, Jonny was a mentor, a manager, a label head, and a father figure to us all…. we would not be where we are today without the two of them. Sadly, we recently lost both Jonny and Marsha, just a little more than a year apart.”

Megaforce also released albums from key artists like Overkill, Anthrax, Testament, Ministry, Ace Frehley and others. Check out the official setlist and a few videos from the show below; it seems like it was an unforgettable show.

01. Creeping Death
02. Ride The Lightning
03. Motorbreath
04. No Remorse
05. Trapped Under Ice
06. The Call Of Ktulu
07. Phantom Lord
08. Am I Evil?
09. Metal Militia
10. For Whom The Bell Tolls
11. Whiplash
12. Fade To Black
13. Seek & Destroy


14. Fight Fire With Fire
15. Bliztkrieg
16. Hit The Lights

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits