Cloak Announce a New Album, Release “Invictus” as Its First Single


Cloak, the blackened metal quartet hailing from Atlanta, Georgia are gearing up to take no prisoners later this year with the release of a new album titled Black Flame Eternal. Set to make its way to the masses on May 26 via Seasons of Mist, the band have released “Invictus,” the first single and music video in support of the new record.

Featuring blistering drums, chugging riffs and doomsaying vocals, “Invictus” is a malevolent piece of music that foreshadows what’s to come from Cloak’s follow up to 2019’s The Burning Dawn. Drummer Sean Bruneau said the band chose “Invictus” as the first track purposely as a way to both introduce the world to Black Flame Eternal and to remind the metal masses who they are.

“No composition written by the band has so perfectly captured our essence to date. The time spent in isolation allowed not only personal growth, but tremendous reflection on a lifetime of inspiration. The song came together aggressively once we started working on new material, and it was clear that we were approaching things differently this time around. Anger and empowerment were much more evident as opposed to the more melody driven material in the past albums. To us, ‘Invictus’ is a thesis of sorts. It’s everything about who we were before this band and where we are headed together moving forward.”

To celebrate the album’s release, Cloak will be playing a show on June 10 at The Earl in Atlanta, Georgia. Aside from that date, they’ve already committed to playing the Carolina Chainsaw Massacre Fest II in Greensboro, North Carolina on May 6, followed by set at the first-ever Hell in the Harbor festivalin Baltimore during Memorial Day Weekend.

Black Flame Eternal will release on May 26 via Seasons of Mist. North American fans can preorder the album today, with the rest of the world having to wait due to technical issues. Still, everyone can pre-save the album on whichever streaming service they prefer right now.

Cloak Announce a New Album, Release “Invictus” as Its First Single

Cloak, Black Flame Eternal
01: Ethereal Fire (05:37)
02: With Fury and Allegiance (04:46)
03: Shadowlands (05:58)
04: Invictus (06:36) [WATCH]
05: Seven Thunders (05:49)
06: Eye of the Abyss (05:06)
07: The Holy Dark (06:03)
08: Heavenless (02:57)
09: Black Flame Eternal (06:43)

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits