Enlarge Photos by Will Mecca

20 Buck Spin to Release Fugitive’s (Power Trip, Creeping Death) Debut EP Maniac Next Month


We’re now nearly two years removed from the extremely untimely death of Power Trip frontman Riley Gale, but the embers of Power Trip have grown into the incendiary indignance behind Fugitive‘s debut EP Maniac. And even though it was released last year as an independent drop on Bandcamp, 20 Buck Spin just announced earlier today that they will be handling the official release when it goes worldwide on April 28.

Created by former Power Trip guitarist Blake Ibanez and featuring Seth Gilmore (Skourge), Lincoln Mullins (Creeping Death), Victor Gutierrez, and Andy Messer, Fugitive is every bit as raw and explosive as Power Trip was. Described in the associated press release as “Power Trip passed through an Obituary meatgrinder,” Fugitive takes some aspects of death metal and smashes them right into a thrash metal mold, creating a potent pipe bomb of fury.

At just 17 minutes and featuring a cover of Bathory’s “Raise The Dead,” Maniac is a must listen to anyone that enjoys good, old-fashioned thrash metal.

While the initial release was only available digitally and as a cassette last year, 20 Buck Spin has already committed to pressing Maniac onto 12″ vinyl and MCD, not to mention that it will remain on streaming platforms as well.

Maniac will be available on April 28 via 20 Buck Spin, though you can preorder your copy today. And if you want to get a taste of the carnage before you buy, you can hit play on the stream below.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits