Enlarge Photo credit: Ekaterina Gorbacheva

Dave Lombardo’s Solo Single “Separation from the Sacred” is a Drum Only Track That Moves


Earlier this month, we learned that ex-Slayer, current Testament/Mr. Bungle/Venamoris drummer Dave Lombardo was releasing a solo percussion album titled Rites of Percussion. We also heard its first single, “Journey of the Host.” Well earlier today, the maestro behind the kit released another single from his solo project, “Separation from the Sacred.”

And while it’s definitely not what you’d expect to hear highlighted on MetalSucks, this is definitely a great look into what happens when you let a master of his craft stretch out a little bit and explore their instrument. While “Journey of the Host” felt like a traditional drum solo full of drum rolls on the snare and traditional beats, today’s single definitely has more of an experimental feel. To me, “Separation from the Sacred” just feels like it’s constantly in motion, utilizing more toms and bass than the previous single.

I could be overstating that though. I’m no drummer. Still, it’s an interesting listen that definitely feels at home on Mike Patton’s label, Ipecac Recordings. Rites of Percussion won’t be available until May 5, but you can preorder a copy today in a number of formats and variants.

Dave Lombardo, Rites of Percussion

  1. Initiatory Madness
  2. Separation from the Sacred
  3. Inner Sanctum
  4. Journey of the Host
  5. Maunder in Liminality
  6. Despojo
  7. Interfearium
  8. Blood Let
  9. Warpath
  10. Guerrero
  11. Vicissitude
  12. Omiero
  13. Animismo
Dave Lombardo is Releasing a Solo Drum Album
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits