Enlarge Photo credit: Leander Djønne

Immortal’s Demonaz Says Latest Single “Wargod” Has Ties to Early 90s Celtic Frost


Norwegian black metal demigods Immortal are back with yet another cut from their upcoming album War Against All and it’s apparently got ties back to the mythical days of Celtic Frost. The track, titled “Wargod,” doesn’t feel like your typical black metal fare, but it’s definitely worth the sore neck you’ll get headbanging to it nonetheless.

According to Demonaz, the track stands out compared to the rest of the songs on War Against All because of its unique origins.

“‘Wargod’ is the heaviest song on the album. I thought it was about time to give the fans a track in the Tyrants again. Celtic Frost’s album To Mega Therion from 1986 was an inspiration to me this time. Some of it’s classic tracks had heavy opening riffs that developed into fast devastating fury and tempo. I wanted to capture that feeling again, the Immortal way. When I moved to the mountains in 2019. I went through some of my old material and unused lyrics. ‘Wargod’ was one of them. The title, lyric, and song ideas were originally from the early nineties, and now finally Immortalized on the album.”

War Against All is the band’s followup to the 2018 release Northern Chaos Gods. Not unlike previous Immortal releases, Demonaz wrote and performed the majority of the record by himself, only calling on session musicians when needed.

War Against All will release on May 26 via Nuclear Blast Records, though you can preorder your copy today.

War Against All Tracklist:

  1. War Against All
  2. Thunders Of Darkness
  3. Wargod
  4. No sun
  5. Return To Cold
  6. Norlandihr
  7. Immortal
  8. Blashyrkh My Throne
Immortal to Release New Album War Against All This May, Stream the Title Track
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits