GWAR’s Final Record with Oderus Urungus is Getting a Special 10th Anniversary Edition


It’s been almost 10 years since the world lost GWAR frontman Oderus Urungus and his human slave Dave Brockie. The band has since forged on with The Berserker Blothar taking the helm, but later this year they’re going to honor a very special moment of their past as they plan to release a special tenth-anniversary edition of Battle Maximus, the band’s final studio release with Urungus/Brockie behind the mic.

According to the band, the new edition will feature completely remixed and remastered editions of the album’s 15 original songs, as well as a previously unreleased track titled “Tammy, The Swine Queen.” That last track is particularly special, since it’s the last recorded vocal performance from the late vocalist.

Looking forward to its release on September 1, BälSäc, The Jaws ‘O Death said in a press release that the loss of Oderus is still on the band’s mind all these years later — especially since this album was written as a tribute to Corey Smoot, a.k.a. Scumdog Warrior Flattus Maximus.

“10 years after its initial release, the wounds are just as fresh. The words that Oderus wrote as a tribute to his fallen Scumdog brother, Flattus Maximus, gain new meaning when heard as the final lyrics he would ever sing. The songs echo in stereo through the twin holes that were left in our hearts by the absence of Oderus and Flattus. This new remix of Battle Maximus breathes new life into this album that demands to be considered as one of GWAR’s greatest.”

Similarly, Blothar reflected on the album, noting its place in time as the weeks and months that preceded one of the hardest moments in the band’s iconic career.

Battle Maximus is an important GWAR album. Recorded as a farewell to guitarist Flattus Maximus, this album was born out of straight pain. As the Scumdog warriors grieved the passing of their brother, they had no way of knowing they were also recording the last album with singer Oderus Urungus. Battle Maximus then, is on the cusp of the greatest challenge of GWAR’s career. This version has been remixed and remastered and it sounds straight up viscous. I hope you relish it as much as I…”

The 10th anniversary edition of Battle Maximus will be released on September 1 via GWAR’s own label, Pit Records. It will be available as a double LP, a CD, and in digital formats. Vinyl collectors will want to pay particular attention to this one, as it will reportedly feature “expanded packaging, redesigned art and an embossed cover.” Naturally, the vinyl pressings will feature a number of color variants as well.

You can check out the remixed version of “Falling” below.

GWAR, Battle Maximus track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Madness At The Core Of Time
  3. Bloodbath
  4. Nothing Left Alive
  5. They Swallowed The Sun
  6. Torture
  7. Raped At Birth
  8. I, Bonesnapper
  9. Mr. Perfect
  10. Tammy, The Swine Queen*
  11. Battle Maximus
  12. Triumph Of The Pig Children
  13. Falling
  14. Fly Now
  15. Carry On Wayward Son
  16. Wheel Of Punishment
  • Previously unreleased bonus track
GWAR’s Final Record with Oderus Urungus is Getting a Special 10th Anniversary Edition
GWAR’s Final Record with Oderus Urungus is Getting a Special 10th Anniversary Edition
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits