Children of Bodom Announce New Album, Hexed

  • Axl Rosenberg
Children of Bodom Announce New Album, Hexed
Art by Deins Forkas

Children of Bodom fans, rejoice: the Finnish melodic death metallers have announced a March 8 release date for their next album, Hexed. There’s no single available for your listening pleasure as of yet, but a press release tells us pre-orders for the album will launch on Friday, December 7, so expect to hear something then.

Says COB frontman Alexi Laiho of the album:

“People have said that this album is generally catchier. So I started thinking about that, perhaps the song structures are easier to grasp on initial listen. But there’s some crazy shit in there, almost progressive or at least technical. There are certain melodies across the album that could have come from jazz songs, although they’re completely metal with us, of course.”

Adds bassist Henkka Blacksmith:

“For me, it has always been very hard to describe our new music. In a way it always feels familiar, but the new stuff also always surprises me. Here we have something that’s very Bodom, but somehow we haven’t done this kind of stuff, possibly ever. Then again, someone said that there’s a somewhat similar vibe to what Follow the Reaper had. I don’t know. Anyway, we had a really hard time choosing the songs for the videos, I guess that’s a positive problem to have.”

Hexed reunites COB with producer Mikko Karmila (I Worship Chaos, Halo of Blood, Hatebreeder, Follow the ReaperHate Crew Deathroll). The track list is as follows:

  1. “The Road”
  2. “Under Grass and Clover”
  3. “Glass Houses”
  4. “Hecate’s Nightmare”
  5. “Kick in the Spleen”
  6. “Platitudes and Barren Words”
  7. “Hexed”
  8. “Relapse (The Nature of My Crime)”
  9. “Say Never Look Back”
  10. “Soon Departed”
  11. “Knuckleduster”
  12. “I Worship Chaos (live)”
  13. “Morrigan (live)”
  14. “Knuckleduster (remix)”

We’ll let you know the second that single drops, natch.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits