Caliban Debut New Song + Video “nICHts”


Official press release:

German metalcore vets Caliban have released their brand-new track, ominously entitled “nICHts,” from their forthcoming album, Zeitgeister, which is set for release on May 14th. The clip is scheduled to go live at midnight Central European time. Watch the dark music video, directed by Michael Winkler for Der Pakt below. (Trigger Warning: This video contains content about suicide.)

Caliban singer Andy Dörner about the track and music video. 

“Who am I, where do I belong? Disorientation, hopelessness, fear, helplessness – the feeling of depression, feelings that can have multiple reasons. It’s feelings that many of us can relate to, especially these days and during the ongoing pandemic. ‘nICHts’ is dealing with these really dark places that are reflected by our protagonist who is dreaming about taking his own life.”

He continues:

“Suicide is not a solution. If you feel like you are getting lost in these feelings, there are people ready to help you.” 

It took German metalcore vets, Caliban, recording a cover of Rammstein’s “Sonne” to realize that their native tongue was a seamless fit with their time-tempered collision of punishing riffs and Andreas Dörner’s urgent vocals. With fans hungry for the Essen-borne quintet to record an album exclusively in German, the band simply said, “Why not?”, and Zeitgeister, which will be released on May 14th, was born. With the help of long-running producer Benjamin Richter (Moonspell, Emil Bulls), Caliban hand-picked seven tracks to bring new life to: 

  1. “Trauma“ (feat. Matthi from Nasty, originally “Arena Of Concealment”)
  2. “Herz” (originally “I Will Never Let You Down”)
  3. “Ausbruch nach Innen“ (originally “Tyranny Of Small Misery”) 
  4. “Feuer, zieh’ mit mir“ (originally “Between The Worlds”)
  5. “Nichts ist für immer“ (originally “All I Gave”)
  6. “Intoleranz“ (originally “Intolerance”)
  7. “Mein Inferno” (originally “My Little Secret”)

 Zeitgeister also boasts a new track, “nICHts”

Pre-order Zeitgeister here.

Caliban Debut New Song + Video “nICHts”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits