Enlarge

Within Temptation Announce Virtual Reality Concert

0

Virtual reality concerts aren’t exactly a new idea; Megadeth and Killswitch Engage have both done it, and long before the pandemic made streaming shows the new normal.

Still, Within Temptation’s just announced “spectacular immersive event,” The Aftermath – A Show in Virtual Reality, sounds pretty darn cool. And I don’t even like Within Temptation.

The one-hour show, set for July 8 and 9, will find the band (and unspecified guests) performing “in four different worlds, that interact with both the band and the music.” In other words, they’ll be filmed in front of a green screen and made to look like they’re playing on other planets.

I obviously have no idea what the execution will be like, but in theory, that sounds rad! It’s exactly the kind of VR experience Hollywood promised us throughout the ’90s.

Sez singer Sharon Den Adel of the event:

“During the whole pandemic we weren’t keen on doing a livestream. The magic of seeing and hearing a band perform live – combined with the energy of the crowd – is something you cannot simply recreate with a livestream. So, for a long time we were clueless. One thing we knew for sure: we would not compromise on a livestream if we could offer something out of the ordinary, something jaw dropping, intriguing, spectacular and mythical!

“Then we found it: a world that we could shape into our wildest fantasies and in which we, as a band, could perform while still maintaining the dynamics and magic of our traditional live-show. We are absolutely thrilled to invite you to Within Temptation: The Aftermath – A Show in A Virtual Reality. A show that takes place in different scenes of a post-apocalyptic world, in which we are witness of the aftermath of destruction of mankind. A world in which it is unknown if anyone or anything of the human race survived. It is a search for answers – about both its becoming as well as its legacy.”

In addition to the show, the band has announced that they’ll release a new single, “Shed My Skin,” on June 25 — just in time to give the music video its premiere as part of the VR gig a couple of weeks later. The track is described as a “bombastic, heartfelt metal anthem” created in collaboration with the German metalcore band Annisokay.

Dates for the performance, which vary slightly depending on where you live, are below. Tickets are here. It’s €24,99 (roughly $30) for one viewer or €29,99 (roughly $37) for multiple viewers in the same room. So if you have a buddy who also has a VR headset and also loves Within Temptation and you’re both vaxx’d and comfortable sharing the same air, you’ll save some moolah.

  • July 8, 2021, Europe (8PM CEST / 7PM BST).
  • July 9, 2021, Northern and Southern America (8pm ET (UTC-4) / 5pm PT (UTC -7) / 9pm BRT (UTC3) / 7pm CST (UTC -5).

BUT WAIT! THERE’S MORE!

Along with the immersive event, Within Temptation have announced the release of a brand-new single ‘Shed My Skin’, which will be out two weeks before the show. For this song Within Temptation have teamed up with German metalcore band Annisokay. This collaboration has resulted in a .

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits