Enlarge Enslaved fans, you are gonna flip for this!

Members of Horrendous and Crypt Sermon Team Up in The Silver

  • Axl Rosenberg

Horrendous and Crypt Sermon are not exactly bands you’d associate with one another; they’re both fucking great and they’re both from phuckin’ Philly, but that’s really where the similarities end. Horrendous are a death metal band whose aim is to rip your head off and shit down your throat; Crypt Sermon play a more atmospheric style of Dio-era-Sabbath trad metal. They’re apples and invisible oranges.

Thing is, somewhere on the spectrum between trad metal and death metal lies black metal.

And so The Silver — the new project featuring Horrendous brothers Matt and Jamie Knox, Crypt Sermon drummer Enrique Sagarnaga, and newcomer Nick Duchemin — does indeed blend the two bands’ styles with incredible skill. Their Enslaved-esque debut single, “Fallow,” is far more vitriolic than Crypt Sermon, but also far more melodic than Horrendous; sometimes it sounds evil and saw-toothed, other times it sounds spacey and emotional. It bodes extremely well for the band’s first album, Ward of Roses, that’s for sure!

Do not delay; listen to “Fallow” below. Ward of Roses comes out October 15 via Gilead Media. Pre-order it here.

Ward of Roses track listing

  1. “…First Utterance”
  2. “Fallow”
  3. “Breathe”
  4. “Vapor”
  5. “Gatekeeper”
  6. “Behold, Five Judges”
  7. “Ward of Roses”
  8. “Then Silence…”
Members of Horrendous and Crypt Sermon Team Up in The Silver
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits