Fear Emptiness Decibel

Fear, Emptiness, Decibel: Stream the New Eyehategod Flexi Disc!


eyehategod flexiBefore there were blogs there were these things called magazines, and the only metal magazine we still get excited about reading every month is DecibelHere’s managing editor Andrew Bonazelli…

While it’s a pleasure to finally smack Eyehategod on the cover of Decibel—they haven’t given us much of an opportunity until now, dropping exactly zero new full-lengths over our 10-year existence (although Take as Needed for Pain hit the Hall of Fame early on)—the surrounding circumstances are undeniably shitty. Founding drummer Joey LaCaze passed away way too early (just 42) last year. But in an interesting bit of serendipity, in the process of recording their long-awaited fifth album, the band scrapped the bass and guitars from early sessions with Billy Anderson, only keeping LaCaze’s drum tracks. So, Eyehategod truly is the blowout finale Lil Daddy deserves.

You can learn all that and tons more in July’s EHG cover story, but if you’re salivating for new music—the album doesn’t drop until Tuesday, remember—we double down on NOLA notoriety via the Flexi Series. Eyehategod’s “The Liar’s Psalm” will not appear on the new record—it was written specifically for us during the recording of Eyehategod—but is an accurate preview of the queasy, lurching, vile sludge on deck. And as you surely know by now, it’s just one of two flexis in the issue, the other being U.K. death-doom supergroup Vallenfyre ripping shit up on “The Great Divide.” A limited number of copies of the issue featuring both flexis are available now in the Decibel webstore. As for the EHG track, get your fix right here.

The July 2014 issue of Decibel features Eyehategod, Arch Enemy, and Agalloch, and can be purchased here… but if you don’t just get a full subscription, you may receive a very unpleasant visit from the ghost of Joey LaCaze.

Metal Sucks Greatest Hits