Shit That Comes Out Today




This month of mega-releases continues with the latest offerings from Alestorm, Isis, A Pale Horse Named Death, and more. Get the deets on each and everyone of ’em from our man Vic Vaughn after the jump!

A Pale Horse Named Death – And Hell Will Follow Me (SPV)
The new project from former Type O Negative drummer Sal Abruscato, APHND play a grungy, gothic form of rock that sounds only vaguely like the aforementioned band and considerably more like a solo release from Jerry Cantrell. And while some of the songs are forgettable, there are some good tunes here. Abruscato plays all of the instruments on the record.

Alestorm – Back Through Time (Napalm)
Alestorm are back with another album of pirate-themed folk metal. Although they are joined by new drummer Peter Alcorn on this release, don’t expect any change in their anthemic tunes. Their third album follows three independent EPs under their former moniker, Battleheart.

Bloodbound – Unholy Cross (AFM)
Swedish power metal band’s third record is out in the States today. Fans of anthemic power metal should definitely give this band a listen. Dual guitar leads, epic vocals, and tight musicianship make this band a fierce unit within their subgenre.

Debauchery – Germany’s Next Death Metal (AFM)
Despite the fact that that title is just awful, Debauchery are a sweet death metal unit from Germany (no shit). The project is spearheaded by Thomas Gurrath, who uses session musicians on the project’s albums and other musicians to take Debauchery out on tour. This seventh album continues in his gore-heavy death metal style.

Fair To Midland – Arrows and Anchors (eOne)
Combining elements of prog, symphonic, and alternative metal, Fair To Midland produce unquestionably complex music with a definite “radio-friendly” pop sensibility. Which is not to say this sucks… it’s excellent. Vocal melodies intertwine with dynamic instrumental passages, creating a compelling piece of music that doesn’t get stale or monotonous. Having Joe Barresi produce your record definitely can’t hurt, either. This is the band’s fourth record since their formation in 1998.

Isis – Live II: 03.19.03 (Ipecac)
The second in Isis’s planned live album series is released today. It’s an Isis live album for cheap. Buy.

Lake of Tears – Illwill (AFM)
Illwill may be AFM’s biggest new release drop this year. Lake Of Tears combine rock n’ roll, stoner rock and (slight) elements of symphonic rock to create a pretty nice little combo. Illwill is the band’s eighth album and the third since their brief breakup in 2003.

Morne – Asylum (Profound Lore)
Monolithic riffage and a hint of post-rock leanings summarizes this, the second full-length from Morne. The Boston band’s last record, Untold Wait, is a crushing cavalcade of heavy riff-oriented jams, and Asylum builds on the success of its predecessor. Profound Lore has put out some seriously awesome releases this year, and Morne is just the latest in line.

Of Mice & Men – The Flood (Rise)
The second record from a band featuring original Attack Attack! vocalist Austin Carlile. The Flood is pretty generic highly melodic metalcore. It’s not super bad, but it’s not really good, either. The second release from Of Mice & Men features new rhythm guitarist Alan Ashby.


Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits