Fear Emptiness Decibel

Fear, Emptiness, Decibel: Stream Iron Reagan’s New Spoiled Identity Flexi Disc EP!



Before there were blogs there were these things called magazines, and the only metal magazine we still get excited about reading every month is DecibelHere’s managing editor Andrew Bonazelli…

The Decibel Flexi Series is obviously a somewhat limited medium in that we can only give you a maximum of about six and a half minutes of music. So, it’s pretty cool when some of our featured bands get creative with their brief time to shine. It helps if they traffic in grind or hardcore punk, of course, as evidenced (in the case of the former) by Agoraphobic Nosebleed’s multi-track Christmas flexi, Make a Joyful Noise. In the case of the latter, Iron Reagan are taking shit to the next level in the June Decibel.

The crossover upstarts came out of nowhere last year with debut LP, Worse Than Dead, defiling the hallowed ground of our Top 40 Extreme Albums of 2013 list. Starring current and former members of Municipal Waste and Darkest Hour, Iron Reagan have followed up Worse Than Dead with the 13-track Spoiled Identity EP, recorded specifically for the Flexi Series. Arriving on metallic silver on green plastic, Spoiled Identity is already available for free digitally—this flexi will be its only physical release. And we have an extremely limited amount of issues containing the flexi available here in the Decibel webstore, so if you want one, order, like, now.

01. “Tongue Tied”
02. “The Living Skull”
03. “I’m Regret”
04. “Zero Gain”
05. “One Shovel Short of a Funeral”
06. “Spoiled Identity”
07. “Your Kid’s an Asshole”
08. “The Hungry Male (of Wall St.)”
09. “Cops Don’t Like Me, I Don’t Like Cops”
10. “Declaration of War”
11. “I Spit on Your Face/Grave”
12. “Court Adjourned”
13. “The Hill Witch”

Postscript: It’s weird how things shake out. June also doubles as our long-form cover tribute to the great Dave Brockie, a.k.a. Oderus Urungus of GWAR (also, of course, this site’s longtime NFL columnist, one of his many varied extracurricular interests). Tony Foresta of Muni Waste/Iron Reagan says that “The Living Skull” was written about Brockie (before his untimely passing, just to clarify). For the zillionth time, thanks for the memories, Dave.

The June 2014 issue of Decibel also features Goatwhore, Floor, and Devil You Know, and can be purchased here… but those who don’t just get a full subscription risk incurring the wrath of the ghost of Oderus. You’ve been warned.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits