New Stuff

Obscura Deliver a “Sermon”

  • Axl Rosenberg

Obscura - Akroasis

Holy shit, this new Obscura song.

The group’s forthcoming release, Akróasis, will mark the band’s recording debut with drummer Sebastian Lanser; it will also basically be their recording debut with bassist Linus Klausenitzer (he played on three cover songs on the group’s 2012 compilation, Illegimitation, but that barely counts). And while I doubt many fans have reservations about Lanser and Klausenitzer joining the fold, if they do,  “Sermon of the Seven Suns” should squash ’em flat. You could not hope for a better showcase of the duo’s skills, both as members of the rhythm section as individual musicians. How nice to have a bassist that actually gets to play something and isn’t just dumped to the bottom of the mix! How exciting it will be to see Lanser nail this shit live!

Of course, this is Obscura, so there are also some insane guitar solos (the science fictiony thing at 3:27 is particularly nuts), and no shortage of fun flourishes (I especially like the banana peel slipping sound that appears at 1:40). I don’t know how much of it is general mastermind Stefan Kummerer and how much of it is new guitarist Rafael Trujillo, who is also making his debut with Obscura on Akróasis. For now, I think they can just share a victory lap with the rest of the band.

Check out “Sermon of the Seven Suns” below, courtesy of Loudwire. Akróasis the album comes out February 5 on Relapse. Pre-order it here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits