WSOU Picks of the Week: Killswitch Engage, Entombed A.D., Walls of Jericho, and Erra


Seton Hall University’s WSOU radio is the only all-metal, all-the-time station currently broadcasting in the US, and as been a force in metal for DECADES. It’s also streamable online from anywhere in the world! Each week, the staff of WSOU shares their picks for the heaviest of the heavy, as well as the station’s charts for that week, right here on MetalSucks. Enjoy:

Entombed A.D. – “The Winner Has Lost” (Garren L.)

With this track, Entombed A.D. have pursued a sound very reminiscent of the thrash and death metal crossovers of the late 1980s and early 1990s. The song reminds me of a slowed down version of “Bored” by Death Angel, but with elements that seem to harken back to bands like Death and Sepultura as well. If someone was looking for a mellow metal track that they could headbang to as well, then this track would fit the bill quite nicely.

Killswitch Engage – “Cut Me Loose” (Billy G.)

“Cut Me Loose” is the third single released from the upcoming album Incarnate, due out March 11. This is the lightest of the three songs released so far, but lyrically, it deals with the very heavy topic of trying to move on from a rough past. This track shows the musical diversity Killswitch Engage is capable of, and showcases the ever meaningful lyrics that vocalist Jesse Leach is known for. To quote Leach himself, “Like it or not, this is soul metal,” and every emotion he is trying to portray is  captured excellently.

Walls of Jericho – “Relentless” (Rachel H.)

Finally, Walls of Jericho are back and better than ever. This vigorous hardcore/metalcore band is setting some high hopes for their new album, their first since 2008’s The American Dream. Originally a demo released back in 2014, “Relentless” is a powerful track full of agression and head-banging breakdowns. The song will be on their new album, No One Can Save You From Yourself, which is set to be released on March 25.

Erra – “Drift” (Nick D.)

Erra are back after with yet another new vocalist for their new album, Drift, coming out April 8th. This time, the band has recruited JT Cavey (ex-Texas In July) to wreak havoc across their djenty style of metalcore. The title track of their upcoming album features many of things I like so much about Erra, including their groovy rhythms, the high pitched singing of guitarist Jesse Cash on the choruses, and the atmospheric, bright sounding leads. The leads and grooves in the verses somewhat bring Northlane to mind, which is not a bad thing by any means. There is definitely some beachy imagery that comes to mind when listening to the lyrics and the guitar lead — and, of course, there’s the title of the song.


Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits