Enlarge Joey Jordison and Frédéric Leclercq

Ex-Slipknot Drummer Joey Jordison Teams with Members of Mayhem, Dragonforce and Chimaira in New Supergroup Sinsaenum


Joey Jordison’s recent upswing in creative energy cannot be stopped! Less than a month after announcing his “new” band Vimic — actually just Scar the Martyr with a different vocalist — the former Slipknot and Murderdolls drummer just announced another new group, Sinsaenum, which sees him pairing with Mayhem frontman Attila Csihar, former Daath and Chimaira vocalist Sean Zatorsky, Dragonforce bassist Frédéric Leclercq on guitar and Seth’s Heimoth on bass.

If that ain’t a weird combo for a supergroup I don’t know what is, but that particular matching of musicians certainly holds way more promise than Vimic (especially after having heard Vimic’s music… blech).

The first song they’ve released via Team Rock, “Army of Chaos,” certainly lends some credence to that; the music traverses the death and black spectra of metal, nothing like Slipknot (or like any of the members’ other or past bands, for that matter, save maybe Daath). The dual-vocalist thing is a bit bizarre visually, but whatever, I guess… the song is pretty decent! It’s like a slightly more straight-ahead Behemoth or something. Leclercq reveals to Team Rock that he wrote some of the songs for the album back in 1998, and just never had the right vehicle to put them out into the world.

Sinsaenum’s debut album Echoes Of The Tortured comes out on July 29th.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits