Dead Cross Debut New Song “Seizure and Desist”

  • Axl Rosenberg

Dead Cross, the new project from Dave Lombardo (ex-Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies), Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Tomahawk, etc.), Justin Pearson (The Locust, Retox, Head Wound City), and Michael Crain (Retox, Festival of Dead Deer), have released another new song. It’s called “Seizure and Desist,” and while I can’t make out what Patton is screaming, my first thought upon hearing the track was that it would make a nice companion to a song by one of Patton’s other projects — specifically, Faith No More’s “Naked in Front of the Computer.”

And why, pray tell, did I make this association between the two songs? Listen to “Seizure and Desist” and you’ll understand immediately:

Yup! It opens with the sound of a old school modem. Fuck. That PTSD that sound triggers for people of a certain age (e.g., me) really might cause a seizure.

Dead Cross’ eponymous debut comes out August 4 on Patton’s own Ipecac Recordings. The band kicks off a tour that same month. Get dates here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits