Stream Legend of the Seagullmen’s (Tool, Mastodon, etc.) Debut Album in Full


Legend of the Seagullmen have gotten quite the buzz for a brand new group, but that’s not surprising given their membership: Tool’s Danny Carey on drums, guitarist (and director) Jimmy Hayward, singer David “Dr Dreyer” Dreyer, Brent Hinds (Mastodon), guitarist Tim Dawson, bassist Pete Griffin (Giraffe Tongue Orchestra, etc.) and keyboard player Chris Digiovanni. Now, after months of teases, we finally get to hear their debut album in full.

The album has more in store of what we’ve heard on the singles the band has released to date: psychedelic, rockin’, vaguely metal-ish tunes about extravagant ocean adventures. Taken on its own — disconnected from what you know about the members’ other bands — it’s pretty damned rad. It’s a super fun listen, and definitely a welcome distraction from the extreme metal we usually spend our days listening to.

Legend of the Seagullmen comes out on February 9th via Dine Alone Records; order here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits