Overkill Announce New Album The Wings of War

  • Axl Rosenberg
Overkill Announce New Album The Wings of War
Album art by Travis Smith

New Jersey’s Overkill have announced a February 22 release date for their nineteenth (!!!) full-length studio album, The Wings of War. The album will mark the band’s recording debut with drummer Jason Bittner (Shadows Fall).

Says frontman Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth of the release:

“It was a blast making The Wings of War! It is something old feeling new again, as our chemistry was altered by the addition of Jason Bittner. I was curious from the get-go, how would it pan out? I think what we accomplished here is a new, upgraded Overkill that embraced the new chemistry, while taking our roots into the present. The new formula produced not only more raw power, but more places to go with melody, a win, win. The key is being not only interested in the change, but part of it. I’ll tell you what, it’s still fun as hell making Overkill records.”

No word on when we’ll get to hear a single, but assume it’s gonna be soonish. In the meantime, the track list is below. I’d give Rick Allen’s left arm for “Hole in My Soul” to be a cover of the cheesy Aerosmith song, but I doubt there’s any such luck. I also like that the songs “Welcome to the Garden State” and “Where Few Dare to Walk” are back-to-back. I could only be happier if the second song had the subtitle “(Because It Smells like Garbage).”

  1. “Last Man Standing”
  2. “Believe in the Fight”
  3. “Head of a Pin”
  4. “Bat Shit Crazy”
  5. “Distortion”
  6. “A Mother’s Prayer”
  7. “Welcome to the Garden State”
  8. “Where Few Dare to Walk”
  9. “Out on the Road-Kill”
  10. “Hole in My Soul”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits