New Stuff

Rob Halford Posts Brand New Solo Track “Donner & Blitzen,” Announces Holiday Album


Judas Priest frontman Rob Halford’s first new solo track in nine years is here! It’s called “Donner & Blitzen,” which, in case you didn’t know (I had to Google it), are the names of two of Santa’s reindeer.

The subject matter is appropriate, of course, because Halford is getting set to release a holiday album, Celestial, which we’ve now learned will contain both new original songs (yay!) and covers of holiday classics (also yay, because it’s Halford!). It’ll be Halford’s second holiday album, following Halford III: Winter Songs, released in 2009, and his first solo album since Halford IV: Made of Metal came out in 2010.

The Metal God himself commented of the collection:

“[I]went away and listened to a lot holiday music and Christmas carols. Traditional stuff. 12 tracks – including original tracks that I’m particularly excited about. And in that way, because of the dimensions of each song and the messages of each song, I think we cover a really broad platform. To me, more than anything, I wanted it to have its own characteristics and be a little bit more different than the regular rock n’ roll Christmas album.”

Some of the Christmas tunes on deck include “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen,” “Joy to the World,” and “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing.”

Halford is keeping it close to home with his “Rob Halford with Family and Friends” band lineup: his brother, Nigel, on drums, his nephew, Alex Hill (son of Judas Priest bassist Ian Hill), on bass, his sister, Sue, on bells, and his good friends Robert Jones and Jon Blakey on guitar.

Celestial, credited to Rob Halford with Family and Friendswill come out on October 18 via Legacy Recordings; pre-order here.

[via Ghost Cult Mag]

Metal Sucks Greatest Hits