And the Nine Inch Nails Members to Be Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are…


Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Notorious B.I.G., and T-Rex will be this year’s inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland. The news was announced in January with a ceremony expected in May but, well, you know. Now it’s scheduled for November.

But which members of Nine Inch Nails will make it in? Like so many bands with lengthy careers, the Trent Reznor-led group has had a slew of members come and go, and with this band in particular it’s not easy to pick based on the success of one particular era.

Cleveland.com has the scoop on which NIN members got the nod alongside Reznor. And they are:

  • programmer/keyboardist, etc. Atticus Ross (2016 – present)
  • guitarist Robin Finck (1994 – 2000, 2008 – present)
  • keyboardist Alessandro Cortini (2004 – 2008, 2013 – present )
  • drummer Ilan Rubin (2009 – present)
  • keyboardist Chris Vrenna (1988 – 1990, 1992 – 1997)
  • bassist Danny Lohner (1993 – 2003)

I’m not an NIN expert on the level Axl is, but this feels right me. There’s no question guys like Vrenna, Finck and Lohner should be, and Ross’s input has been crucial in recent years, as has (to a slightly lesser extent, I’d argue) Cortini and Rubin’s. The only “big name” missing is Josh Freese, but he wasn’t even in the band for four years… although I guess Ross hasn’t been yet either. Maybe Freese didn’t contribute as much creatively… I really don’t know.

In any case, I’m sure there’s some superfan out there who thinks Richard Patrick deserves to be in, but c’mon, no.

[via The PRP]

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits