Enlarge Photo Credit: Paul McGuire

Dee Snider Announces New Album, Debuts First Single


Iconic Twisted Sister singer Dee Snider has announced a July 30 release date via Napalm Records for heavily-anticipated new album, Leave a Scar. Like Dee’s last solo outing, For the Love of Metal, this latest effort was produced by Hatebreed’s Jamey Jasta. It also includes “Time to Choose,” a duet with Cannibal Corpse’s George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher.

Additionally, Snider has released the first single album, “I Gotta Rock (Again),” which is a reference (as if you couldn’t figure this out on your own) to Twisted Sister’s 1984 classic, “I Wanna Rock.” Snider was 29 when he recorded that song; now he’s 66. I guess the passage of time now necessitates that he rock (again); it’s no longer simply a personal preference, as it was all those years ago.

Says Snider of the track:

“‘I Gotta Rock (Again)’ is the starting gun for this album and the driving motivation behind me returning to the studio to record Leave a Scar. At the end of 2019, I had felt my recording and live performing was over, but I didn’t announce it to the world. I mentally had decided I was done. But the state of things in 2020 had other plans for me. Between COVID and the political state around the globe, I found myself yearning (yes, I yearn) to get back in the studio. In the immortal words of Ice Cube, ‘I got somethin’ to say!’”

Dee Snider quoting Ice Cube. There’s something I never thought I’d see.

Also Dee Snider saying “Yes, I yearn” is pretty funny. It makes me wish someone would cast him as Shylock in The Merchant of Venice (If you prick us, do we not bleed? If you tickle us, do we not laugh? If you poison us, do we not die?”).

Watch the video below. Pre-order Leave a Scar here.

Leave a Scar tracklisting
1) “I Gotta Rock (Again)”
2) “All Or Nothing More”
3) “Down but Never Out”
4) “Before I Go”
5) “Open Season”
6) “Silent Battles”
7) “Crying for Your Life”
8) “In for the Kill”
9) “Time to Choose” (featuring George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher)
10) “S.H.E.”
11) “The Reckoning”
12) “Stand”

Dee Snider Announces New Album, Debuts First Single
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits