Enlarge Photo Credit: Oh Snap Kid

Whores. and Mastodon Guitarist Post Super-Sludgy Cover of AC/DC’s “Have a Drink on Me”

Whores. and Mastodon Guitarist Post Super-Sludgy Cover of AC/DC’s “Have a Drink on Me”

Whores. and Mastodon guitarist Bill Kelliher have teamed up for an explosively sludgy, noisy cover of AC/DC’s “Have a Drink on Me.”

The track serves as the first single for the latest entry in Magnetic Eye Records’ Redux series, each installment of which finds different metal artists covering songs from an entire classic album of yesteryear (Alice in Chains’ Dirt, Pink Floyd’s The Wall, Black Sabbath’s Volume 4 and others have all recently gotten the Redux album treatment). The newest Redux installment finds several artists tackling songs from AC/DC’s 1980 comeback album Back in Black, the first to feature singer Brian Johnson.

Whores. frontman Christian Lembach comments of the AC/DC cover:

“I grew up listening to AC/DC, like everyone else. They were one of the first bands I heard that felt like a real rock and roll band, totally divorced from artifice. I still listen to them regularly, and we start every tour with ‘It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll)’ because it’s true. AC/DC are one of the most important bands in my life. I was a little concerned with the song that we covered, because it’s very different from our style. We just asked ourselves, ‘What would Harvey Milk do?’. It was pretty easy after that.”

You can have a listen to the Whores. + Bill Kelliher version of “Have a Drink on Me” below. The album will come out on December 3 and is available to pre-order here. Here’s the full tracklist:

1. Hells Bells – RED FANG
2. Shoot to Thrill – HOWLING GIANT feat. Udo Dirkschneider
3. What Do You Do for Money Honey – SUPERSUCKERS
4. Givin the Dog a Bone – SMOKING LIGHTNING
5. Let Me Put My Love into You – HEAVY TEMPLE feat. Valient Himself
6. Back in Black – BESVÄRJELSEN
7. You Shook Me All Night Long – JAKETHEHAWK feat. Patrick Waters
8. Have a Drink on Me – WHORES feat. Bill Kelliher
9. Shake a Leg – EARLY MAN
10. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution – EARTHRIDE

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits