Enlarge Featuring Barns Courtney; Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones and Chipotle Joe; and Ben Harper.

Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello Just Dropped Three New Songs


Despite just releasing a solo album, The Atlas Underground Fire, in October, Rage Against the Machine guitarist, liberal activist and friend of Ted Nugent Tom Morello has announced plans for another record arriving in December, and he’s dropped three songs from it all at once.

Morello’s new effort, titled The Atlas Underground Flood, will be comprised of collaborations with other musicians just like its predecessor. Metallica‘s Kirk Hammett, Rush’s Alex Lifeson, Idles and Manchester Orchestra are a few of the bigger names involved.

Today’s tracks feature Morello alongside Barns Courtney; Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones and Chipotle Joe; and Ben Harper. Of all those names I’m only familiar with Harper, and his track is also my favorite of the three, although I really don’t dig all of the auto-tune on what I assume is Morello’s voice (Harper sounds better, but still too much auto-tune). None of these tracks are particularly Rage-like — it is a side project for a reason, after all — so if you’re looking for that, this ain’t for you (“Hard Times” at least has a Rage-esque riff and rapping). I dig the tracks for what they are although I can’t say I’m itching to listen to them again.

Check out all three below. The Atlas Underground Flood will be out on December 3 through Mom+Pop; pre-order here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits