Enlarge Photo by Cecil Shang Whaley.

Devil Master Announce New Album, Release Bitchin’ First Single


Man, we are here for Philly’s Devil Master. With 2019’s searing Satan Spits on Children of Light, the band offered us a glammy, hammy, hypersatanic blast of occult-draped blackened-sleaze metal (what a cover, too!). Now, it looks like the band aren’t letting up on their campaign of stygian snottiness, as they’ve just announced a new record, and have released an awesome first single to boot.

Devil Master’s new record, Ecstasies of Never Ending Night, comes out April 29th via Relapse Records, and is available for preorder. According to guitarist Darkest Prince, the record is a distillation of the two halves of their personality — black and pink!

“It’s the perfect evolution of our sound. It’s Japanese metal-punk d-beat meets black metal. There’s plenty of GISM and Mobs in there, but also Celtic Frost and Gorgoroth.

“This album is more mature and self-confident. It’s moving past childish Satanism towards a more mature dark spirituality. This one is not relying on stereotypical tropes. It’s a real magickal experience. 

“This and the last album are mirrored opposites, right down to the titles. There’s even an instrumental in the middle of the album, like last time. I believe in balance, so there’s a spiritual aspect to it. And it just feels good.” 

You had us at ‘never ending night,’ you beautiful bastards.

As you’ll hear below, the first single from the album, “Acid Black Mass,” goes hard on the band’s lo-fi, goth-leaning blackened thrash sound. It’s a little less serrated than the big tracks from the previous record, but still brings the sense that you’re watching this band upon finding them in the crypt of a deconsecrated church. Fans of modern acts like Unto Others and Demiser will definitely get a huge kick out of this sonic candle-wax orgy.

Check out “Acid Black Mass” below, followed by the album’s cover art and traclisting.

Devil Master’s Ecstasies of Never Ending Night:

  1. Ecstasies…
  2. Enamoured in the Throes of Death
  3. Golgotha’s Cruel Song
  4. The Vigour of Evil
  5. Acid Black Mass
  6. Abyss In Vision
  7. Shrines in Cinder
  8. Funerary Hyre of Dreams & Madness
  9. Precious Blood of Christ Rebuked
  10. Never Ending Night
Devil Master Announce New Album, Release Bitchin’ First Single
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits