Enlarge Photographer credit: Dante Torrieri

Sunrot Announce Their Second Album and Drop a Sludgy Bomb with Their Latest Single “Gutter”


Sometimes, you gotta write some devastating sludge metal to get your anger at the system writ large . For Sunrot, hailing from New Jersey makes raging at how poorly shit’s run comes pretty naturally. It’s also why they sound super pissed in “Gutter,” the first single for their newly announced album The Unfalling Rope.

According to bassist Ross Bradley, their sophomore studio effort due to release on April 7 via Prosthetic Records will be a “document of grief and hope to reflect our current moment.”

“This record was created while we firsthand experienced our city come to a reckoning with its people. Our planet being irreparably eroded, our communities being killed. But also a time where more people than ever are ready to fight back. A time where the most pain has also birthed the most righteous anger and action. The Unfailing Rope is the mantra of light and the path to death.”

The track, which you can check out below, features vocal and lyrical contributions from Bryan Funck (Thou) & Emily McWilliams (Silver Godling). The band says the album was constantly marred by problems, having been recorded no less than three times before it was deemed worthy of release. That’s not to mention the difficulty that comes from having vocalist Lex Santiago end up hospitalized due to a psychotic episode between the first and second recordings.

As for the single, Bradley said its focus was on the erosion of our planet’s habitability as unchecked capitalism keeps fucking shit up for everyone.

“‘Gutter’ is, likewise, a track full of grief and hope. Ecological genocide, like the proposed “cop city” destroying Atlanta forests, is more and more commonplace. The insatiable maw of colonialism and capitalism is driven toward ending life on earth for profit and will not stop unless we stop it. We believe that the land belongs to its indigenous keepers and must be ceded back to their stewardship. Gutter is a plea for action and an expression of hope that a better world is possible, and maybe not even just possible, but inevitable, if that’s what we choose.”

So yeah, sounds like a super pissed off premise. If you’re ready to rage at the machine a bit, hit play below and be sure to preorder The Unfalling Rope via Prosthetic Records today.

Sunrot, The Unfailing Rope

  1. Descent
  2. Trepanation
  3. Gutter
  4. The One You Feed
  5. The Cull
  6. Patricide
  7. Tower of Silence
  8. Love
Sunrot Announce Their Second Album and Drop a Sludgy Bomb with Their Latest Single “Gutter”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits