T-Pain to Cover Black Sabbath and Journey on His Next Album


File this under “Didn’t See This Shit Coming,” but apparently rapper and auto-tune enthusiast T-Pain is going to do his own rendition of Black Sabbath’s 1970 classic track “War Pigs” for an upcoming covers album.

Titled On Top of the Covers, the album will showcase the singer-rapper singing without any digital assistance on seven different tracks, including Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’” and Frank Sinatra’s “That’s Life.”

You may not know this, but T-Pain’s actually been getting a bit of notoriety for being a decent singer. Not only did he turn some heads during a 2014 NPR Tiny Desk Concert, but he made waves when he won on The Masked Singer — you know, that show where B-list celebrities and has-been musicians sing karaoke while wearing crazy animal outfits.

Apparently the plan to do a covers album had been on T-Pain’s to-do list for a while, but he hadn’t started work on it until after his time on the aforementioned TV show.

“[The album] got put on hold for a bit but now that I’m independent, I’m able to do whatever I want to do through Nappy Boy Entertainment and this is something I’ve felt strongly about for a long time. These songs are not what you’d expect when you hear that T-Pain is doing a covers album and that is what I think is cool about it.”

“Not what you’d expect” is certainly right. Though to be fair, it seems like T-Pain’s a pretty big fan of music in general, so he’s probably already well aware of Black Sabbath’s importance to music in general. As long as he doesn’t do to Ozzy what Trick Daddy did, it should be fine…

On Top of The Covers will be out on March 17 via Nappy Boy Entertainment.

T-Pain to Cover Black Sabbath and Journey on His Next Album

On Top of the Covers Tracklist:
01. A Change Is Gonna Come
02. Don’t Stop Believin’
03. Sharing The Night Together
04. Stay With Me
05. Tennessee Whiskey
06. That’s Life (feat. NandoSTL)
07. War Pigs

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits