Foo Fighters Announce New Album, Share First Single “Rescued”


After a long year that included the tragic death of drummer Taylor Hawkins, Foo Fighters have confirmed that a new album is on the way. Aptly titled But Here We Are, the album is due for a June 2 release with first single “Rescued” streaming now.

The first of 10 songs on But Here We Are, “Rescued” is quintessential Foo Fighters. It’s definitely on the lighter side for the rockers but the press release promises an album that runs the full spectrum of emotions, so it’s probably safe to assume we’ll get some heavier tunes as well.

On New Year’s Eve, frontman Dave Grohl addressed the band’s future.

“As we say goodbye to the most difficult and tragic year that our band has ever known, we are reminded of how thankful we are for the people that we love and cherish most, and for the loved ones who are no longer with us.

“Foo Fighters were formed 27 years ago to represent the healing power of music and a continuation of life. And for the past 27 years our fans have built a worldwide community, a devoted support system that has helped us all get through the darkest of times together. A place to share our joy and our pain, our hopes and fears, and to join in a chorus of life together through music. Without Taylor, we never would have become the band that we were — and without Taylor, we know that we’re going to be a different band going forward.

“We also know that you, the fans, meant as much to Taylor as he meant to you and we know that when we see you again — and we will soon — he’ll be there in spirit with all of us every night.”

Listen to “Rescued” below.

“But Here We Are” track listing:

01. Rescued
02. Under You
03. Hearing Voices
04. But Here We Are
05. The Glass
06. Nothing At All
07. Show Me How
08. Beyond Me
09. The Teacher
10. Rest

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits